Technological Innovation

What are the 4 major types of ISOs?


In today's rapidly advancing technological world, ISOs (International Organization for Standardization) play a crucial role in ensuring quality control and standardization across various industries. ISOs are sets of guidelines and specifications that companies can adhere to in order to ensure their products, services, and processes meet international standards. In this article, we will explore the four major types of ISOs and their significance.

1. ISO 9001: Quality Management Systems (QMS)

ISO 9001 is one of the most well-known ISO standards globally. It focuses on quality management systems and provides guidance on how organizations can consistently deliver products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements. This standard emphasizes the importance of customer satisfaction, continual improvement, and involvement of top management. Companies that are ISO 9001 certified demonstrate their commitment to providing high-quality products and services.

2. ISO 14001: Environmental Management Systems (EMS)

ISO 14001 addresses the impact of an organization's activities on the environment. It provides a framework for developing an effective environmental management system that controls and reduces the company's environmental footprint. This standard requires organizations to identify and manage their environmental aspects, set objectives for improvement, and comply with relevant environmental laws and regulations. By implementing ISO 14001, companies can demonstrate their commitment to sustainable practices and minimizing their environmental impact.

3. ISO 27001: Information Security Management Systems (ISMS)

In an age where data breaches and cyber-attacks are becoming increasingly common, ISO 27001 has gained significant importance. It outlines the requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining, and continually improving an information security management system. This standard helps organizations protect their confidential information, such as customer data, intellectual property, and financial records. By achieving ISO 27001 certification, companies can assure their stakeholders that they have implemented robust information security controls.

4. ISO 45001: Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems (OHSMS)

ISO 45001 focuses on promoting a safe and healthy work environment for employees. It provides a framework for organizations to establish occupational health and safety management systems and prevent work-related injuries and illnesses. This standard requires companies to identify and assess potential hazards, implement preventive measures, and continually monitor and improve their occupational health and safety performance. By obtaining ISO 45001 certification, organizations demonstrate their commitment to the well-being of their employees.


ISO standards play a vital role in ensuring uniformity, quality, and safety across different industries. The four major types of ISOs discussed in this article – ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 27001, and ISO 45001 – address critical aspects of business operations, including quality management, environmental responsibility, information security, and occupational health and safety. By adhering to these standards, organizations can not only enhance their reputation but also gain a competitive edge in today's global market.



Contact: Cindy

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code