Technological Innovation

What is the difference between BS476 and EN 1366

In the world of construction and building materials, fire safety is of paramount importance. Architects, engineers, and regulatory bodies always strive to ensure that buildings are designed and constructed in a way that minimizes the risk of fire spread. Standards and regulations play a crucial role in achieving this goal. In this article, we will explore the key differences between two commonly referenced standards for fire resistance testing - BS476 and EN 1366.

BS476: A British Standard

The BS476 standard is a British fire test method used to assess and classify the behavior of construction materials when exposed to fire. It consists of different parts, each focusing on specific aspects of fire resistance testing. For example, Part 20 evaluates the performance of building elements such as walls, doors, and windows while Part 22 examines the fire resistance of non-load-bearing elements like ceiling systems and partitions.

EN 1366: A European Norm

In contrast to BS476, EN 1366 is an umbrella standard developed by the European Committee for Standardization (CEN). It comprises multiple parts, which cover various aspects of fire resistance testing similar to the BS476 standard. The purpose of EN 1366 is to provide standardized methods for evaluating the fire performance of different building components throughout Europe.

Key Differences

While both BS476 and EN 1366 aim to achieve the same goal of assessing fire resistance, there are notable differences between the two:

1. Scope: BS476 primarily focuses on the fire resistance of building elements, whereas EN 1366 covers a broader range of components, including fire dampers, ductwork, and ventilation systems.

2. Test Procedures: The testing methods outlined in both standards differ, with BS476 typically requiring longer furnace exposure durations than EN 1366.

3. Classification Criteria: The fire performance of materials tested under BS476 is classified in terms of 'integrity' (E), 'insulation' (I), and 'load-bearing capacity' (C). On the other hand, EN 1366 classifies materials based on 'integrity', 'insulation', 'radiation', 'thermal resistance', and 'heat absorption'.


BS476 and EN 1366 are two prominent standards utilized for assessing the fire resistance of building materials. Each standard has its own specific focus, testing procedures, and classification criteria. It is essential for professionals in the construction industry to be aware of these differences in order to select the appropriate standard for their projects, ensuring compliance with safety regulations and enhancing overall fire safety measures.



Contact: Cindy

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code