Technological Innovation

What is EN 13501-2 Fire Classification?

The EN 13501-2 fire classification is a technical standard that is widely used to determine the fire performance of construction products. It provides a standardized method for evaluating the reaction to fire of materials and products commonly used in buildings. This classification system helps architects, builders, and regulatory bodies ensure that materials being used are safe and compliant with fire safety regulations.

Fire Classes and Testing Criteria

The EN 13501-2 standard classifies materials into seven different fire classes - A1, A2, B, C, D, E, and F. These classes represent varying levels of fire performance, with A1 being the highest and F being the lowest. The classification is based on several key criteria, including flame spread, heat release rate, smoke production, and the ability to resist fire penetration.

In order to determine the fire class of a material, various tests are conducted according to specific methodologies defined in the standard. These tests include the Single Burning Item (SBI), the Ignitability Test (EN ISO 11925-2), and the Heat Release Rate Test (EN ISO 5660-1). Through these tests, the fire behavior of the material can be accurately assessed, allowing for appropriate classification.

Importance and Application

The EN 13501-2 fire classification plays a significant role in ensuring the safety of buildings and occupants. It helps in determining the suitability of materials for different applications and environments. For example, materials classified as A1 or A2 are considered non-combustible and have excellent fire resistance properties. They are most commonly used in critical areas such as escape routes and high-rise buildings where fire protection is of utmost importance.

On the other hand, materials classified as B, C, D, E, or F have varying degrees of combustibility and fire performance. These materials may be suitable for use in less critical areas or with additional fire protection measures in place. The classification allows for informed decision-making when selecting materials and aids in comparing their fire safety properties.


The EN 13501-2 fire classification is a crucial standard in the construction industry. It provides a standardized method to assess the fire performance of building materials and products. By classifying materials into specific fire classes, it helps ensure that buildings are safe and comply with fire safety regulations. Architects, builders, and regulatory bodies heavily rely on this classification system to make informed decisions about material selection and placement within buildings.



Contact: Cindy

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code