Technological Innovation

What is ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017

ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017, also known as Systems and software engineering - Software life cycle processes, is an international standard that provides guidelines for the development and management of software projects. It specifies the activities, tasks, and responsibilities involved in each phase of the software life cycle, from requirements analysis to maintenance and retirement.

The Purpose and Importance of ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017

The main purpose of ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017 is to ensure a systematic and reliable approach to software development. By following this standard, organizations can improve the quality of their software products and reduce the risks associated with software projects. It helps stakeholders to have a clear understanding of their roles and responsibilities throughout the software development process and facilitates better communication and collaboration among team members.

In addition, ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017 promotes the use of best practices in software engineering and helps organizations comply with legal and regulatory requirements related to software development. It also enhances the ability to manage software projects effectively by providing a framework for project planning, monitoring, and control.

The Key Processes and Activities Covered by ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017

ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017 covers a wide range of processes and activities involved in software development. Some of the key processes outlined in the standard include:

1. Requirements engineering: This phase focuses on gathering, documenting, and managing software requirements. It includes activities such as requirements elicitation, analysis, and validation.

2. Design and implementation: This phase involves translating the requirements into a detailed design and implementing the software solution. It includes activities such as architectural design, coding, and unit testing.

3. Verification and validation: This phase aims to ensure that the software meets the specified requirements and is free from defects. It includes activities such as system testing, acceptance testing, and defect management.

4. Deployment and maintenance: This phase involves deploying the software to the target environment and providing ongoing support and maintenance. It includes activities such as installation, user training, and bug fixing.


ISO-IEC-IEEE 12209-2017 is a comprehensive standard that provides guidelines for the software development life cycle. By following this standard, organizations can improve the quality and reliability of their software products, enhance project management capabilities, and ensure compliance with regulatory requirements. It promotes a systematic and disciplined approach to software development, leading to better outcomes for both organizations and end-users.



Contact: Cindy

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code