Technological Innovation

What is BS EN 13779:2007+A1:2015 ?

Building materials can be classified into several categories according to the BS EN 13779:2007+A1:2015 standard. These categories include A1, A2, B, C, D, E, and F, with the highest classification, A1, representing non-combustible materials and the lowest, F, indicating materials with no predefined performance characteristics.

Each classification has unique criteria and limitations, which help in specifying materials suitable for different parts of a building based on their fire hazards. For example, materials classified as A1 have exceptional fire-resistant properties and are often used in critical areas such as escape routes or areas with highly combustible contents. On the other hand, materials falling under lower classifications like D, E, or F are restricted from use in certain parts of a building due to their higher fire risk.

The implementation of BS EN 13501-1:2007+A1:2009 is crucial for several reasons. Firstly, it ensures that the construction industry follows uniform fire safety standards across Europe, promoting consistency and reliability in evaluating materials. This plays a pivotal role when it comes to harmonizing safety regulations and facilitating trade between different countries. Secondly, using materials classified under this standard helps architects and contractors make informed decisions regarding fire safety measures during the design and construction phases. It allows them to choose suitable materials that meet the regulatory requirements and contribute to the overall fire performance of a building. Additionally, regulators can refer to the BS EN 13501-1:2007+A1:2009 standard when assessing compliance with fire safety regulations, ensuring a standardized approach to fire safety enforcement.



Contact: Cindy

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code